Providence Bruins Tuukka Rask Freaks Out After Shootout

Total Pro Sports – After losing to the Albany River Rats in a Shootout the other day, Providence Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask absolutely lost his mind after two blown calls by the referee in the shootout.

The first missed call Rask poke checked the River Rats player who picks up the should be dead puck shoots and scores.  The second blown call comes when the River Rats player hits the crossbar and the ref counts it as a goal.

NHL rules state on penalty shots that,

  • 25.2 Procedure – The Referee shall ask to have announced over the public address system the name of the player designated by him or selected by the team entitled to take the shot (as appropriate). He shall then place the puck on the center face-off spot and the player taking the shot will, on the instruction of the Referee (by blowing his whistle), play the puck from there and shall attempt to score on the goalkeeper. The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete.
  • 26.4 Infractions – During the Course of a Penalty Shot – A goal will be awarded when a goalkeeper attempts to stop a penalty shot by throwing his stick or any other object at the player taking the shot or by deliberately dislodging the goal.

So after reviewing the rules we think the first goal should have definitely been waved off and think that the ref’s blew the game for the Bruins.  The AHL should definitely fix this matter and correct the mistakes that were made.

Tags: AHL, Albany River Rats, hockey, NHL rules, Providence Bruins, Tuukka Rask, Tuukka Rask throws his stick,