The Most Questionable Foul Call In The NBA Playoffs?
When it comes to officiating in the sport of basketball, there is no shortage of subjectivity involved. Much like a holding penalty in football, or a strike in baseball, a foul can be called during almost any play on the hard court (which makes point-shaving all the more likely). It all depends on whether the official in question feels like blowing his whistle, or not.
As for this incident, which occurred during Game 5 between the Phoenix Suns and the Portland Trail Blazers, let’s just say that perhaps referee Joey Crawford was a little whistle-happy.
With the Suns up by seven and just over five minutes remaining in the third quarter, an unexpected whistle echoed throughout the US Airways Center. As the Blazer players stood around with their palms raised, as if to ask “for what?”, a fourth foul was called on Marcus Camby.
Camby had supposedly close-lined the Suns’ Grant Hill, but the odd part was that Steve Nash was sent to the line to take the free throws. So what exactly was going on here? Was Camby deserving of his fourth foul? You be the judge.