Dolphins’ Cornerback Vontae Davis Injured During Celebration (Video)
Did Mike Shanahan Get Shanahaned? (Video)
Mike Shanahan has made a name for himself around NFL circles for his tendency to “ice kickers.” He has done it on several occasions before, and the league has even had to insert a rule to disallow coaches from calling two consecutive timeouts before kick attempts because of him.
So it was interesting to see Shanahan’s own tactic come back to bite him in the ass during the Redskins’ game against the Texans on Sunday.
With the game tied 27-27 in overtime, the Redskins drove the ball to the Houston 35-yard line, and faced with a decision on 4th & 7, coach Mike Shanahan decided to send out kicker Graham Gano for a 52-yard field goal attempt. Gano’s first attempt was good, soaring right between the pipes, but the celebration was short-lived as the referee’s whistle blew the play dead after Texans’ coach Gary Kubiak had called a timeout from the sidelines. Gano’s next attempt would sail wide right and the Texans would take their next drive down to the Redskins’ 17-yard line and win the game on a Neil Rackers 35-yard field goal.
It was an amazing come-from-behind win for the Texans, which is bound to have people asking, “did Mike Shanahan just get Shanahaned?” Take a look and judge for yourself.
Latest posts by JamieD (see all)
- Bill Romanowski Goes on Anti-Cam Newton Twitter Tirade, Later Apologizes - February 8, 2016
- Steph Curry Responds to Panthers Super Bowl Loss With Crying Jordan Meme (Pic) - February 8, 2016
- Aqib Talib Wipes Out on Live TV After Super Bowl Win (Video) - February 8, 2016