Here Is De’Anthony Thomas’ Record Setting 91-Yard TD Run At The Rose Bowl (Video)
Here’s Danny Coale’s Amazing Catch That Was Ruled No Catch (Video)
While watching the first overtime of last night’s All-State Sugar Bowl between Michigan and Virginia Tech, I thought I had just witnessed the greatest catch of the 2011-12 NCAA Bowl season when Hokies wide receiver Danny Coale made a diving grab at the edge of the end zone, as he secured the ball in his arms before touching his left elbow down just inside the white line. That is what I, and many others, thought we had seen, however, the officials must have seen something different, as they robbed the senior of a possible game-winning catch.
Rather than being awarded the touchdown, Virginia Tech was forced to attempt a field-goal on fourth down, which they would miss. A few plays later, Michigan would line up and kick the game-winning field goal and capture the 2012 All-State Sugar Bowl by a score of 23-20.
So were the Hokies robbed by some poor officiating? I’d have to argue that they were. After all, I still can’t find any conclusive evidence to overturn the call on the field (which was a touchdown) during Coale’s diving catch. You can see it all for yourself in the video below.