This Andrew Shaw Headbutt Goal Was Disallowed in Double-OT (Video)

Andrew Shaw headbutt goal

Marcus Kruger was the overtime hero of last night’s epic Game 2 battle between the Chicago Blackhawks and Anaheim Ducks in the Western Conference Finals, but had it not been for the NHL’s reluctance to allow players to score with their head (intentionally), this Andrew Shaw headbutt goal would have ended things one overtime period earlier.

Watch:

I’m willing to bet that at least 80% of the players, coaches, and fans inside the Honda Center for last night’s game had no clue about the rules regarding goals that are intentionally headed into the net.  I guess that’s why we have referees, as they provided an explanation for the disallowed goal, and we were all treated to another 27 minutes of thrilling overtime action before Kruger ended it in triple-OT.

Tags: Anaheim Ducks, andrew shaw, Chicago Blackhawks, headbutt, hockey, NHL, NHL Playoffs,

Comments