Does Jerry Jones Think Dez Caught the Ball? Yes, He Does
Blake Griffin Takes on Marvin the Martian in an New Nike Ad (Video)
Lexus Has Given Us That Hoverboard We've Been Wanting (Video)

Does Jerry Jones Think Dez Caught the Ball? Of Course Jerry Jones Thinks Dez Caught the Ball (Video)

by: Esteban On  Wednesday, August 5, 2015

jerry jones dez caught it

Ever since the NFC divisional playoff game between the Packers and Cowboys back in January, NFL fans and analysts have been debating whether or not Dez Bryant caught that ball on the five-yard line.

According to common sense and the power of observation, yes, Dez caught the ball. I mean, it was in the air, then he had it in his hands. That’s what it means to catch a ball.

However, the NFL’s official rule at the time about what constitutes a catch was much more complicated. Take a look:

A player who makes a catch may advance the ball. A forward pass iscomplete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds: a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

[...]

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

The referees concluded that Bryant went to the ground in the act of catching a pass, which meant he would have had to maintain control of the ball after hitting the turf.

However, that business about “any act common to the game” opened up another possible interpretation: Dez had control of the ball, but lost it while performing an “act common to the game”—namely, diving for the endzone.

Because of this confusion, the NFL rewrote the rule this offseason to specify when a player is considered to be going to the ground in the act of catching a pass. Here’s the new rule:

A player is considered to be going to the ground if he does not remain upright long enough to demonstrate that he is clearly a runner. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball until after his initial contact with the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

According to the rewritten rule, it’s much harder to say Dez caught it. But that doesn’t mean we have to agree with the rule, which is basically designed to refute common sense and take away incredible plays.

And while Cowboys Vice President Stephen Jones said a few weeks back that the offiicals’ call on the Dez Bryant non-catch was technically correct, his dad Jerry Jones recently told the folks at ESPN that he disagrees:

I cannot believe I’m saying this, but I’m with Jerry Jones on this one.



AWESOME STORIES FROM THE WEB

LATEST STORIES