Manu Ginobili Also Committed a Foul On Dion Waiters' Inbound Pass (Pics) | Total Pro Sports
Lead Referee Admits Foul Should Have Been Called on Dion Waiters (Tweet)
Spurs Fan Grabbed Steven Adams' Arm On The Final Play Of The Game (Video)

Manu Ginobili Also Committed a Foul On Dion Waiters’ Inbound Pass (Pics)

by: JamieD On  Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Manu Ginobili Line Violation

Everyone is talking about how Dion Waiters should have been called for a foul for elbowing Manu Ginobili while inbounding the ball with 13.5 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter of Game 2 on Monday. But how about the violation that Manu Ginobili committed before receiving an elbow from Waiters?

According to NBA rules, a defender is not to step on the boundary line while defending an inbound pass.

As per Rule No. 12, Section II, #5, a delay-of-game will be called for the following:

A defender crossing the boundary line prior to the ball being released on a throw-in.

And here’s how a delay-of-game is dealt with during the final two minutes of regulation:

In the last two minutes of the fourth period and last two minutes of any overtime period, a technical foul will be assessed if the defender crosses or breaks the plane of the boundary line when an offensive player is in a position to inbound and prior to the ball being released on a throw-in.

A closer look at the play shows that Ginobili was clearly on the line—which may explain why Waiters had to elbow him, in order to get himself enough room to make a pass.  The Spurs guard should have been called for a delay-of-game, but was not:

So I guess both non-calls cancel each other out? Can we move on now?



AWESOME STORIES FROM THE WEB

LATEST STORIES