NFL Rule Changes For 2016 Includes Re-Wording of Catch Rule | Total Pro Sports
Kobe Bryant Gets Slimmed With Gold at Kids' Choice Sports Awards (Video + Pics)
Gronk Trolls Edelman with Savage Instagram Comment (Pic)

NFL Rule Changes For 2016 Includes Re-Wording of Catch Rule

by: JamieD On  Friday, July 15, 2016
Tags:  Catch Rule   NFL  

Dez Bryant Catch Rule

The start of the 2016 NFL season is less than two months away, so now may be a good time to start familiarizing yourself with some of the new rules implemented by the league during the offseason.

Via the NFL’s official rulebook for the 2016 season, here’s a list of all the new rule changes taking place this year:

NFL 2016 Rule Changes

One rule that won’t be changed is the controversial “Catch Rule.”  However, in an effort to help provide some clarity to the often mis-interpreted rule, the league has decided to re-word their definition of a completed or intercepted pass.

Here it is (via Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book):

ARTICLE 3. COMPLETED OR INTERCEPTED PASS. A player who makes a catch may advance the ball. A forward pass is
complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
(c) maintains control of the ball after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, until he has the ball long enough to clearly become a
runner. A player has the ball long enough to become a runner when, after his second foot is on the ground, he is capable
of avoiding or warding off impending contact of an opponent, tucking the ball away, turning up field, or taking additional
steps (see 3-2-7-Item 2).

Note: If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball will not be considered a loss of possession. He must
lose control of the ball in order to rule that there has been a loss of possession.

If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any part of his body to the ground, it is not a catch.

So that’s what constitutes a catch. Get it now?…

Yeah, I didn’t think so.



AWESOME STORIES FROM THE WEB

LATEST STORIES