Westbrook to Reporter Who Ask If He Hit Ref Intentionally: “I Don’t Appreciate That Sh*t” (Video)
Wednesday night, Oklahoma City Thunder superstar Russell Westbrook received a technical foul after he threw the ball and it hit a ref in the head during a break in the game.
Thunder’s Russell Westbrook drills referee in the head with the ball pic.twitter.com/57PygvLNHG
— Ben Golliver (@BenGolliver) January 5, 2017
After the incident, during which he received a technical foul, Westbrook went into the tunnel with assistant coach Maurice Cheeks to cool off.
When the game was over, Westbrook explained the situation to a reporter.
“I called his name. He turned right at me and then looked away. I don’t know,” Westbrook said. “I don’t know what to tell you, I really don’t. I’m not the type of guy . . . I would never, ever disrespect the game like that and throw the ball at the referee. I’ve never done it before. That’s just not even heard of in the game before. If you do that you get kicked out the game, that’s not allowed, I would never do such a thing. To get a tech, it’s crazy to me. But you take the good with the bad.”
Things got heated with that reporter when he asked Westbrook if he had hit the ref intentionally:
“I don’t want to hear that s—, man. Come on, man,” Westbrook said. “I ain’t perfect, bro. I make mistakes like everybody else. The ball slipped in Portland. Don’t come up with that s—, man. Don’t do that.”
The reporter later tried to apologize but the damage was already done.
“Don’t appreciate that s—,” Westbrook said multiple times, adding that he felt disrespected just by the thought of his actions Wednesday being intentional.