Russell Westbrook Gives Us the Most Ridiculous Traveling Violation in NBA History (Video)
NBA players get a lot of leeway when it comes to traveling. But there are limits.
It’s actually very similar to baseball’s old unwritten “neighborhood” rule about stepping on second base during a double play. Officials know the players know the rule, and that they could follow that rule if they really wanted to. But it’s easier and more fun to let things slide. Every once in a while, though, a player takes things too far, leaving the officials with no choice but to make the call.
Last night in Oakland, OKC Thunder superstar Russell Westbrook figured out where NBA refs draw the line on traveling. Then he went over that line by about 10 feet.
Midway through the third quarter, Westbrook took an inbound pass from Victor Olidapo underneath the Thunder basket and proceeded to bring the ball up the court. Unfortunately, he got a little distracted while directing his teammates and totally forgot to dribble.
Take a look:
So this is what it takes to get called for traveling in the NBA…pic.twitter.com/J02i4oEUUY
— TotalProSports.com (@TotalProSports) January 19, 2017
I’m not sure if the best part is Westbrook’s reaction or Steph Curry basically calling the violation himself.
So what did he have to say about it after the game?
Westbrook on what happened with his traveling violation in the third quarter: “Travel.”
— Royce Young (@royceyoung) January 19, 2017
Nice insight. Thanks, Russell.