Sergio Garcia Masters Win Almost Undone by Viewers Who Thought They Spotted Rules Violation on 13th Hole (Video)

Image via Getty

Image via Getty

Sergio Garcia beat Justin Rose in a one-hole playoff at Augusta on Sunday to win the 2017 Masters. In doing so the 37-year-old Spaniard finally shed the unofficial title of “Best Golfer without a Major,” which had been hanging around his neck like an albatross for the past 15 years.

Of course, Garcia’s career-defining win almost didn’t happen. He almost suffered the same fate as the LPGA’s Lexi Thompson at last week’s ANA Inspiration.

After bogeying the 10th and 11th holes to fall two strokes behind, on 13 Garcia clanked a shot off a tree and into the rough. That’s where things got interesting.

Garcia’s ball landed on a bed of pine straw. In preparation for his shot, Garcia cleared away some of the needles where he was going to take his stance. However, according to some eagle-eyed viewers at home, his clearing of the needles may have caused his ball to move.

Take a look:

Lexi Thompson was leading the ANA Inspiration last week when a fan watching from home emailed the LPGA about a rules violation from a previous round. The LPGA then gave Thompson a four-stroke penalty, which cost her the win.

If the PGA determined that Garcia’s ball moved as the result of him clearing pine needles on 13, he would have been penalized a stroke, which would have cost him the Masters.

Garcia was luckier than Thompson, though. The PGA said his ball did not move. He made an impressive recovery to make par on 13 and, as a result, now has a new green jacket hanging in his closet.

Hat Tip – [FTW]

Tags: Golf, Masters, PGA, Sergio Garcia, The Masters,