Drew Brees Named Offense Player of the Year

Drew BreesTotal Pro Sports-  Drew Brees from the New Orleans Saints has been named the Offensive player of the year by the Associated Press, for the 2008 season.  He becomes the first player from the New Orleans Saints to win the award since it was created in 1972.  He is also becomes the first player with a mole on his face to win the award.

Brees had a solid season posting 5069 yards, 34 touchdowns, and 17 interceptions.  The main reason why he won the award was due to his inflated yardage totals, which came close to surpassing Hall of Famer Dan Marino’s record.  If New Orleans was actually a competitive team he would not have passed for over 5000 yards and would not have won this award.

If I were choosing the winner of this award I would have picked Adrian Peterson.  Peterson had a solid season despite playing without a “real” quarterback.  If the Minnesota Vikings ever wake up and land an NFL caliber QB, Peterson would easily win this award.

Tags: 5069 yards, Adrian Peterson, Dan Marino, Drew Brees, Minnesota Vikings, New Orleans Saints, NFL, Offensive player of the year,