A Bad Call Negated Pablo Osvaldo’s Brilliant Bicycle Kick Goal (Video)
Seventy-five minutes into Sunday’s game against Lecce, AS Roma’s Pablo Osvaldo received a cross from the right hand side and delivered a brilliant overhead kicked that reminded us all why we often call soccer the “Beautiful Game.” Seconds after the goal, in the midst of his celebration, Osvaldo was reminded that at times the “Beautiful Game” can sometimes be a very frustrating game as well.
Moments after celebrating what he thought was a 3-1 Roma lead, Osvaldo was informed that the referee had adjudged him to be in an offside position, negating what may have been one of the prettier goals of the weekend, and perhaps one of the best goals we have seen in Serie A this year.
In case you were wondering, Roma would hold on for the 2-1 victory. Here’s another look at the great goal that never was.
Hat Tip – [Dirty Tackle]