San Antonio Spurs Thrash Heat Again to Win Fifth NBA Championship (Videos)


The San Antonio Spurs are your 2014 National Basketball Association champions.

Tim Duncan and coach Gregg Popovich now have five rings together, while the core trio of Duncan, Manu Ginobili, and Tony Parker now have four. And this one was their most impressive one yet, as they gave the two-time defending champs the biggest thrashing in NBA Finals history.

No, really. Biggest thrashing ever. The Spurs outscored the Heat by 70 points for the series. That’s a record.

Of course, Game 5 didn’t look like it was going to be another San Antonio blowout at first. Chris Bosh guaranteed a Miami win, and right off the bat LeBron James was backing that guarantee up with putback dunks, superhuman blocks, and deep three-pointers.

That got Miami off to a hot start, and at one point their lead was 16 points. But then Manu Ginobili came in off the bench and sparked a turnaround by posterizing Chris Bosh.

Pretty soon, Finals MVP Kawhi Leonard was flying through the air for alley-oop dunks:

Then Tiago Splitter was rejecting Dwyane Wade:

Which led to this:

And then this:

And then, finally, this:

Last night the Spurs established themselves as one of the greatest teams in NBA history, and the moment was not lost on Gregg Popovich. It was an astounding performance by a deserving team, and it was a joy to watch.

Congratulations, San Antonio.


Tags: Miami Heat, NBA, NBA Championship, NBA Finals, San Antonio Spurs, Tim Duncan,