Facing 2-on-0 Break, AHL Goalie David Leggio Says F**k It and Just Knocks the Goal Over (Video)

david leggio knocks goal over

David Leggio may not have a single NHL game on his résumé, but a guy who went undrafted out of college doesn’t become a 30-year-old journeyman netminder with a two-way contract without being crafty as hell. And on Sunday night against the Springfield Falcons, the Bridgeport Sound Tigers goalie showed off his craftiness.

After two of his teammates coughed the puck up at center ice, creating a 2-on-0 breakaway for the Falcons, David Leggio quickly did the math and realized that a 1-on-0 breakaway would be preferable over the situation he was about to face. So before the two Falcons players got anywhere near the goal, he knocked the whole damn thing over.

Now under normal circumstances, when a player intentionally knocks the goal off its moorings, they get a delay of game penalty. However, referees can use their discretion to award a penalty shot in any situation in which a clear breakaway is prevented by some sort of infraction, and this was obviously such a situation. So they awarded a penalty shot—the aforementioned 1-on-0 breakaway.

And Leggio stopped it. Like a boss.

Take a look:

Hopefully Leggio gets a chance to play in the NHL at some point. He deserves that much based solely on this play alone.

Tags: AHL, Bridgeport Sound Tigers, David Leggio, Goalie, hockey, NHL,

Comments