EA Sports Announces Addition of Women’s Teams to FIFA 16 (Video)

EA Sports FIFA 16 - Alex Morgan

FIFA 16 won’t hit store shelves in North America until September 22nd, but when it does there may be a lot more females lining up to get themselves a copy, thanks to the addition of women’s teams to the latest edition of the popular soccer video game series.

The announcement, which was made by EA Sports on Thursday, has been somewhat overshadowed by FIFA’s involvement in a bribery scandal that has taken the soccer world by storm.  But it still deserves mentioning, as it marks the first time ever that FIFA users will be able to play with a women’s team.

Among the teams they’ll get to choose from are the United States, Canada, Australia, Brazil, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, and Sweden. To help with the motion capturing, EA Sports enlisted the services of the USA’s Sydney Leroux, Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, and Megan Rapinoe, as well as members of the Canadian national soccer team.

If you’d like to see the end result, you can check out the video below:

Tags: abby wambach, alex morgan, Canada, ea sports, FIFA 16, Megan Rapinoe, Sydney Leroux, USWNT, video game, Women's Soccer,