Detroit Lions to Celebrate 25th Anniversary of Only Playoff Win In The Super Bowl Era


The Detroit Lions will celebrate the 25th anniversary of their last and only playoff win in the Super Bowl era during the upcoming season when they honor the 1991 team that made it all the way to the NFC Championship. To put that in perspective, the Lions have lost 7 straight wild-card games since that lone playoff win in 1991.

The celebration is set for Oct. 16—a Week 6 matchup with the Los Angeles Rams—and it is expected to include many members of that year’s team, Dave Birkett of The Detroit Free Press reports.

The team that included Barry Sanders, Chris Spielman, Brett Perriman, Lomas Brown, and a rookie Herman Moore beat the Dallas Cowboys 38-6 in the divisional round before losing to the Super Bowl champion Washington Redskins.

Sanders led the 12-4 Lions with one of his best statistical seasons, racking up 1,548 rushing yards and 17 total touchdowns in 15 games. The franchise would go on to squander Sanders’ talents over the next seven seasons, failing to win any of their four postseason games.”

Tags: Barry Sanders, Detroit Lions,