Non-Call on Richard Sherman Pass Interference Blows Game for Falcons (Video)
Sunday’s matchup between the Seahawks and Falcons was one of the most entertaining games we’ve seen so far this season. And it might have been even more entertaining had the refs not totally blown a huge pass interference call late in the fourth quarter.
Matt Ryan and receiver Julio Jones had torched the Seahawks’ vaunted secondary all day. Ryan threw for 335 yards; Jones was on the receiving end of 139. So when the Seahawks took a 26-24 lead on a field goal with 1:57 left in the fourth quarter, they knew they were going to have to figure out some way to stop the Falcons passing game. Fortunately Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman had the perfect solution.
After three straight incomplete passes, the Falcons’ had one last chance to move the ball into field goal range with 1:39 left on the clock. So on fourth and 10 from the Atlanta 25, Matt Ryan heaved a desperation pass deep down the middle to a double teamed Julio Jones. However, Jones was unable to make the catch because he only had one hand available.
The other hand? It was tied up by Richard Sherman. Take a look:
Was that pass interference?
Falcons coach Dan Quinn certainly thought so:
Dan Quinn is in rage mode.https://t.co/MlRlX3tysp
— The Sports Daily (@SportsDailyBlog) October 16, 2016
So did Fox’s NFL rules expert Mike Pereira:
No question that was PI. They’re all tough, but you have to make that call. #ATLvsSEA
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) October 16, 2016
Unfortunately, the referees did not think it was pass interference. So instead of getting the ball deep in Seahawks territory with a chance to win the game, the Falcons lost the ball and the game.
You gotta love NFL officiating.
Hat Tip – [SB Nation]