49ers Vote QB Colin Kaepernick For Courage Award

Minnesota Vikings v San Francisco 49ers

On the outside looking in, it may have seemed like San Francisco 49ers QB Colin Kaepernick did not have the support of his locker room when he decided to not stand for the National Anthem (in protest of police dealings with minorities in this country).

Reality was, they supported him 100%.  The Niners squashed any doubt of that when they chose Kaepernick as the 2016 recipient of the Len Eshmont Award, an honor bestowed on the 49er who best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Eshmont, a member of the original 1946 team.

Hall of Famers Joe Montana, Steve Young, and Jerry Rice are just a few of the players who have won this award in the past.

Kaepernick has been heavily criticized since he was pictured sitting during the National Anthem during the preseason.  However, he has stuck to his guns the entire year, despite the outrage and death threats.

Team MVP award winner: Offensive tackle Joe Staley

Nominated for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award: Receiver Torrey Smith 

Ed Block Courage award for commitment to sportsmanship and courage winner: Defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey 

Tags: Colin Kaepernick, San Francisco 49ers,