Some golf fans believe that Collin Morikawa cheated during the first day of the 2023 men’s Masters golf tournament in Augusta.
Morikawa was marking his ball on the green ahead of a putt attempt. Some fans and observers noted that Morikawa appeared to reposition his ball, and they accused him of cheating.
Here is the video:
And in short time, a plethora of fans were accusing Morikawa of breaking the rules here:
But John Wood responded to the Morikawa cheating accusations and explained why this wasn’t a rules violation. As Wood pointed out, the player owns the spot where they golf their ball:
Rules officials would have informed Morikawa by now if he had violated a rule there. No penalty stroke was added to his score, so Wood’s explanation here should give fans all the clarification they need.
The 26-year-old Morikawa is looking to win his third PGA major. He won his first major at the 2020 PGA Championship, following it up with a win at The Open Championship in 2021. Morikawa was fairly close to winning the green jacket a year ago, finishing fifth with a score of of -4. Scottie Scheffler won the tournament with a score of -10.
Morikawa has five career wins on the PGA tour and four on the European Tour. He is currently ranked 12th in the Official World Golf Rankings.
The Masters will be played through Easter Sunday. Scheffler is aiming to become the first back-to-back men’s Masters champion since Tiger Woods, who won it all in 2001 and 2002.WANT MORE FROM TOTALPROSPORTS? FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS.