Taylor Heinicke is going to regret this play for the rest of the day…and the next week.
The rule change for quarterbacks is that a head-first dive is now treated the same way as a feet-first slide, and so a quarterback who dives into the end zone is considered to have given himself up.
Heinicke did not realize that when he dove head first for an easy touchdown. He did the Lambeau leap in celebration for nothing. The play was reviewed and the Washington quarterback was ruled to be short of the goal line.
On the very next play, the team got stopped short of the goal line and turned the ball over on downs.
Washington has had a tough time moving the ball against the Packers defense in Lambeau today. That’s what made this especially tough to swallow, as the Redskins got oh so close to the end zone, but in the end they couldn’t even come up with a single point from it.