Kansas State Football Players Announce All-Out Boycott After Student’s Disgusting Tweet About George Floyd (TWEETS)

(Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

Kansas State students and athletes reacted negatively online to Jaden McNeil, junior in political science and president of America First Students at K-State, following a series of posts on Twitter he made that were deemed racist and insensitive by members of the community.

McNeil tweeted, “Congratulations to George Floyd on being drug free for an entire month!”

Floyd died in police custody on May 25 in Minneapolis after Derek Chauvin kneeled on his neck for nearly nine minutes.

The school will ultimately have to do something soon, because soon a ton of players on the Kansas State football team would put pressure on the school itself.

Joshua Youngblood, an All-American kick returner and wide receiver for the team, tweeted a statement after the team discussed the situation with various other campus groups.

“Due to the recent disparaging, insensitive, and unsettling comments made by a fellow student, we as a football team, after consultation with students from campus organizations and as well as students from the general student body, feel it is best for us to stand with the students,” the statement begins. “We are demanding that Kansas State University put a policy in place that allows a student to be dismissed for displaying openly racist, threatening or disrespectful actions toward a student or groups of students. We have resolved that we cannot play, practice, or meet until these demands are heard and actions taken.”

“We love Kansas State but we must stand together and protect all students moving forward,” the statement ends.

Antonio Gordon and DaJuan Gordon, two Kansas State men’s basketball players announced that they will not play for Bruce Weber’s program until changes come.

Christianna Carr, a Freshman All-Big 12 selection last year for the K-State women’s basketball program, also spoke out.

Freshman defensive back Tee Denson:

Quarterback Skylar Thompson, defensive back Jonathan Alexander, defensive back Walter Neil Jr. and other players shared the statement on Saturday.