Say what you will about the lack of enthusiasm in the crowds at the Los Angeles Country Club, or the lack of “carnage” from the course itself, there was still plenty of dramatics at this year’s US Open golf tournament.
In the end, it was Wyndham Clark holding off a late charge from Rory McIlroy to win his first ever major tournament. And make no mistake about it: the victory was a well-deserved one, as Clark used his patented fade and a solid short-game to secure a one-stroke victory over the number-three-ranked golfer in the world.
However, there is some controversy brewing, as fans watching final round coverage of this year’s tournament couldn’t help but notice that Clark may have gotten away with what should have been a one-stroke penalty.
Check it out. Did the ball move?
The majority of people seem to think that Clark’s ball definitely moved.
However, some also believe that it was not enough movement to warrant a penalty.
Had Clark been penalized for this, it would have placed him in a tie with McIlroy at 9-under, forcing a playoff…
Of course, some will also argue that McIlroy benefitted from a very favorable decision on the 14th hole, when he was allowed to take a favorable drop after getting plugged in a green side bunker.
In the end, both men got away with favorable rulings, but it was Clark who made the most of his, as he takes home $3.6-million with just his second career PGA Tour victory.
WANT MORE FROM TOTALPROSPORTS? FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS.