D.J. Moore got wrongfully blasted for his actions on Sunday and his team got screwed as a result. Moore caught an incredible 62-yard touchdown with 23 seconds left to tie the game.
Wide receiver DJ Moore would then be penalized after taking his helmet off after scoring that touchdown. Because of the penalty, the field goal had to be kicked from 48 yards out after the 15 yard penalty.
Eddy Pineiro missed it and the game would go into overtime. The Falcons would go on to win.
NBC analyst Tony Dungy would take to Twitter and relay information that he confirmed from Terry McAulay that the penalty shouldn’t have happened because Moore wasn’t on the field when he took his helmet off.
NFL Wide Receivers News
Get all of the latest info, photos, and social media news surrounding NFL Wide Receivers.
“Our NBC rules analyst Terry McAulay says according to the written rule this should not have been called a penalty because Moore was not on the field when he took off his helmet,” Tony Dungy tweeted.
After an interception on the Falcons’ first overtime drive, Piñeiro missed a 32-yard kick in overtime.
Panthers head coach Steve Wilks called the moment a “learning experience” for Moore.
Following the game, Moore called taking his helmet off a “natural reaction,” but added “but you still have to know you can’t do that,” according to DaShawn Brown of WSOC-TV in Charlotte.
It’s unfortunate that such an incredible touchdown catch will be almost forgotten because of the subsequent penalty by Moore.
PJ Walker’s 317 passing yards today were the most for a Panthers QB since Teddy Bridgewater threw for 367. The former Houston Roughnecks QB is coming along nice for the team.
DJ Moore hauled in six of his 11 targets for 152 yards and a touchdown in the Week 8 loss.
WANT MORE FROM TOTALPROSPORTS? FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS.