Tonight’s edition of Sunday Night Football features a Wild Card battle between AFC North rivals.
There have already been some questionable plays, and the fans at Cincy’s Paycor Stadium thought they had seen another one when their star quarterback, Joe Burrow, was taken down by a horse-collar tackle during the first half.
Oddly enough, no flag was thrown on the play.
It had viewers everywhere wondering how in the world the refs could possibly miss that penalty…until we were all informed that it is not, in fact, a penalty.
As NBC Rules Analyst Terry McAuley quickly pointed out, a horse-collar penalty does not apply to quarterbacks when they are in the pocket.
Based on all the measures that the league has taken to protect quarterbacks, you’d think this would be an easy roughing the passer call. Instead, the league has decided to allow signal-callers to be susceptible to dangerous horse-collar tackles.
To say that social media was shocked to find this out would be an understatement:
WANT MORE FROM TOTALPROSPORTS? FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS.